For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel Colleges & Schools

Antoinette Westphal College of Media Arts and Design (2005–present)

  • 2001–2005  College of Media Arts and Design
  • 1985–2001  Nesbitt College of Design Arts
  • 1974–1985  Nesbitt College of Design, Nutrition, Human Behavior, and Home Economics
  • 1945–1974  College of Home Economics
  • 1922–1945  School of Home Economics
  • 1914–1922  School of Domestic Science and Arts
  • 1900–1914  Department of Domestic Science, Dept. of Domestic Arts
  • 1894–1900  Department of Domestic Science and Arts
  • 1891–1894  Department of Domestic Economy

Bennett S. LeBow College of Business (1999–present)

  • 1974–1999  College of Business and Administration
  • 1945–1974  College of Business Administration
  • 1922–1945  School of Business Administration
  • 1914–1922  Secretarial School
  • 1896–1914  Department of Commerce and Finance
  • 1891–1896  Business Department

Center for Hospitality and Sport Management (2013–2017)*

  • Effective July 1, 2017, the Center for Hospitality and Sport Management split into two centers: Center for Sport Management (affiliated with LeBow College of Business) and Center for Food and Hospitality Management (affiliated with the College of Nursing and Health Professions).

Charles D. Close School of Entrepreneurship (2013–present)

College of Arts and Sciences (1990–present)

  • 1968–1990  College of Science
  • 1970–1990  College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • 1965–1970  Humanities and Technology Program

College of Computing and Informatics (2014–present)

  • 1995–2014  College of Information Science and Technology
  • 1985–1995  College of Information Studies
  • 1979–1985  School of Library and Information Science
  • 1942–1979  Graduate School of Library Science
  • 1922–1942  School of Library Science
  • 1900–1914  Library School
  • 1893–1900  Library Department
  • 1892–1893  Library and Reading Room

College of Engineering (1945–1964, 1968–present)

  • 1964–1968  College of Engineering and Science
  • 1945–1964  College of Engineering
  • 1914–1945  School of Engineering
  • 1902–1914  Department of Science and Technology
  • 1892–1902  Scientific Department / Technical Department / Department of Mechanic Arts

College of Medicine (2002–present)

  • Previously part of MCP Hahnemann University. For a history of the MCP Hahnemann University School of Medicine, see the Archives and Special Collections on Women in Medicine and Homeopathy.

College of Nursing and Health Professions (2002–present)

  • Previously part of MCP Hahnemann University.

Dana and David Dornsife School of Public Health (2015–present)

  • 2002–2015  School of Public Health
  • Previously part of MCP Hahnemann University.

Department of Fine and Applied Art (1894–1905)*

  • 1905–1914  Department of Architecture [survived after closing of Department of Fine and Applied Art]
  • 1892–1894  Art Department

Goodwin College of Professional Studies (2001–present)

  • 1997–2001  College of Evening & Professional Studies
  • 1987–1993  University College
  • 1965–1987  Evening College
  • 1950–1965  Evening College and Diploma School
  • 1924–1950  Evening Diploma School
  • 1918–1924  Evening School
  • 1896–1918  Department of Evening Courses
  • 1892–1896  Department of Lectures and Evening Classes

Pennoni Honors College (2003–present)

  • 1991–2003  Drexel Honors Program

School of Biomedical Engineering, Science, and Health Systems (1997–present)

School of Education (1997–present)

  • Prior to the establishment of the School of Education, teacher training was offered within various colleges at Drexel.

School of Environmental Science, Engineering, and Policy (1997–2002)*

  • 2002–present  College of Engineering. Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering [moved after closing of school in 2002]
  • 2002–present  College of Arts and Science. Academic Programs in Environmental Science [moved after closing of school in 2002]
  • 1963–1997  Environmental Studies Institute

Thomas R. Kline School of Law (2014–present)

  • 2013–2014  Drexel University School of Law
  • 2008–2013  Earle Mack School of Law
  • 2005–2008  College of Law

*discontinued centers, schools, and departments

back to top