For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

List of Drexel Presidents

President Years
James A. MacAlister 1891–1913
Hollis Godfrey 1913–1921
Kenneth G. Matheson 1922–1931
Parke R. Kolbe 1932–1942
George Peters Rea 1942–1944
James Creese 1945–1963
William W. Hagerty 1963–1984
William S. Gaither 1984–1987
Harold M. Myers (interim) 1987–1988
Richard Breslin 1988–1994
C. R. 'Chuck' Pennoni (interim) 1994–1995
Constantine Papadakis 1995–2009
C. R. 'Chuck' Pennoni (interim) 2009–2010
John A. Fry 2010–present

Transitional Leaders

Horace Churchman served as President pro tempore for six months, from President MacAlister's retirement until Hollis Godfrey took office on December 1, 1913.

After President Matheson died in office in December 1931, the Board of Trustees created an interim committee of deans, chaired by Robert Disque, to lead the Institute until President Kolbe arrived. Robert Disque, then Dean of Faculty, headed another interim executive committee after President Kolbe died in office in 1942. Dean Disque later served as Acting President after President Rea resigned in August 1944 until President Creese took office in 1945. According to standards set in 2009, only presidents who signed student diplomas are given a numerical designation.